Warning: mysql_fetch_object(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/minsoc/www/include.php on line 219
The Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland - Hallimond Lecturer
12 Baylis Mews, Amyand Park Road, Twickenham, Middlesex, TW1 3HQ, United Kingdom.

Tel: +44 (0)20 8891 6600
Fax: +44 (0)20 8891 6599
Email: info@minersoc.org

Registered Charity No. 233706
VAT Reg. No. GB 238 7676 17

Photo Gallery

Click on a photo to enlarge and for more information.

Hallimond Lecture

The Hallimond Lecture was established in honour of Arthur Francis Hallimond (1890–1968) who was a member of the Mineralogical Society for 56 years, many of which were served on Council (obituary published in American Mineralogist ).

The annual lecture is a tribute to Hallimond's valuable contribution to the science of mineralogy, particularly in the fields of ore mineralogy and instrument design. His book, Manual of the Polarising Microscope, first published in 1948, is regarded as one of the foundation stones of modern ore-microscopy.

The Hallimond Lecturer, chosen annually by Council, is invited to deliver a lecture at the Mineralogical Society's Annual Meeting. The first Hallimond lecture was delivered in 1970/1.

D.B. Johnson
Bangor University, UK
K. Rosso
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Washington
2016D. Pyle
University of Oxford
N. Skipper
University College London
2014G. Begg
Minerals Targeting International
2014 S. Gibson Cambridge University 
 2013K. CondieNew Mexico Tech 
2012/13K. Hudson-Edwards Birkbeck, University of London 
2011/12P. O'Brien Universität Potsdam
2010/11J. BanfieldCalifornia-Berkeley
2009/10R. Ewing U. Michigan
2008/9B. HarteEdinburgh  
2007/8J. GaleCurtin University, Australia
2006/7P. Kelemen  Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, USA  
2005/6 C.M.O'D AlexanderCarnegie Institution, Washington
2004/5C. SkinnerYale
2003/4F. Goff Los Alamos Nat. Lab., USA
2002/3A.N. HallidayETH, Zurich
2001/2M.J. HoldowayS. Methodist Univ. Colorado
2000/01U. HansenMünster, Germany
1999/00S. SparksBristol
1998/9J. Jambor British Columbia
1997/8W. Compston A.N.U., Canberra
1996/7B.J. WoodUniversity of Bristol 
1995/6D.H. GreenA.N.U., Canberra 
1994/5B.D. MarshJohns Hopkins
1993/4G. Brown Stanford
1992/3L.J. Cabri CANMET
1991/2D.P. McKenzie  Cambridge 
1990/01J.M. Thomas  R.I., London 
1989/90R.C. Newton Chicago 
1988/9R.G. Burns M.I.T., Massachusetts
1987/8W.F. Schreyer Bochum
1986/7J. ZussmannManchester 
1985/6R.K. O'NionsOxford 
1984/5H.P. EugsterJohns Hopkins
1983/4A.E. RingwoodCanberra 
1982/3G. Turner Manchester
1981/2H.S. Yoder JrWashington 
1980/1J.B. DawsonSheffield
1979/80J.B. ThompsonHarvard
1978/9S.M.F. SheppardCNRS, Nancy
1977/8I. ParsonsEdinburgh
1976/7J.V. SmithChicago
1975/6S. MoorbathOxford
1974/5S.O. AgrellCambridge
1973/4H.F.W. TaylorAberdeen
1972/3M.H. HeyNHM, London 
1971/2W.S. MackenzieManchester
1970/1J.D.C McConnellOxford