Warning: mysql_fetch_object(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/minsoc/www/include.php on line 219
The Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland - Schlumberger Award: Awards: Mineralogical Society
12 Baylis Mews, Amyand Park Road, Twickenham, Middlesex, TW1 3HQ, United Kingdom.

Tel: +44 (0)20 8891 6600
Fax: +44 (0)20 8891 6599
Email: info@minersoc.org

Registered Charity No. 233706
VAT Reg. No. GB 238 7676 17

Photo Gallery

Click on a photo to enlarge and for more information.

map logo The Mineralogical Society
12 Baylis Mews, Amyand Park Road, Twickenham, Middlesex,TW1 3HQ, United Kingdom.
Tel.: +44 (0)20 8891 6600; Fax: +44 (0)20 8891 6599
e-mail: info@minersoc.org
Map and Travel Information
Registered Charity No. 233706 VAT Reg. No. GB 238 7676 17
Mineralogical Society logo
Home | Awards | Schlumberger Award

Mineralogical Society-Schlumberger Award

The Mineralogical Society-Schlumberger Medal

Nominations are now being sought for the 2011 award

This annual award was founded in 1990 through the generous sponsorship of Schlumberger Cambridge Research and has the purpose:

'To recognize scientific excellence in mineralogy and its applications; mineralogy being broadly defined and reflecting the diverse and worldwide interests and membership of the Society with its various specialist groups. Evidence of such excellence should be in the form of published work by a currently active scientist. Nominations on behalf of both younger scientists and well established workers would be welcomed. 'Nominees do not have to be Members of the Mineralogical Society.'

Nominations should include a statement on the merits of the candidate, a summary curriculum vitae and a list of the nominee's more important contributions. In addition to the main nominator there should be a letter of support from a seconder; both nominator and seconder should be members of the Society. Further letters of support may be submitted from up to two additional people (who do not have to be members of the Society). Nominations will remain on the table for three years. Previous recipients of the award, Society Officers, members of Council and members of the Committee (at the time of nomination and adjudication) will not be eligible for the award.

Nominations for the 2011 medal should be sent to the Chair of the Awards Committee at the Society's office, to arrive not later than 30th April 2010. Submissions should be in the form of a single package in pdf format, to include the nomination letters, CV of the candidate and the additional letters of support. The nomination package should be attached to an e-mail with a title which identifies the name of the award and the name of the nominee. The e-mail address to use is info@minersoc.org

The nominations will be considered and recommendations for award made by the Society’s Awards Committee to be chaired by Prof. Bruce Yardley.

Previous Winners

2009      J. Brodholt
2008      D. Rubie
      R. Powell
      D.J. Vaughan
      R. Boehler
2004      D.A.C. Manning
2003      H. O'Neill
2002      C.J. Hawkesworth
2001      T.J.B. Holland
2000      P.H.Nadeau
1999      G.D. Price
1998      E.K.H. Salje
1997      A.E. Fallick
1996      C.M.B. Henderson
      P.H. Ribbe
      F.C. Hawthorne
      I. Parsons
      I.S.E. Carmichael
      B.J. Wood
1990      M.J. Wilson