Society personnel

Each year vacancies arise on Council and on other Society committees. Members and Fellows are encouraged to contribute to the running of the Society by volunteering to serve in some capacity. Job descriptions for all positions on Council (Society trustees) are given here. Contact Kevin Murphy any time for information about how best you can serve your Society. Click here to download a Council Nomination form.

Council and other committees

Council consists of the Officers, the Ordinary Members of Council and the chairs of the Special Interest Groups (or their representatives). The numbers in parentheses indicate the final year of office.


President: B.W.D. Yardley (20) (e-mail)
Secretary: J. Horák (22) (e-mail )
Treasurer: J. Harvey (24) (e-mail )
Publications Manager: P. Treloar (20) (e-mail )
PRO: P. Pogge von Strandmann (22) (e-mail )
Principal Editor, Mineralogical Magazine: R. Mitchell (21) (e-mail )
Principal Editor, Mineralogical Magazine: S. Mills (21) (e-mail)
Principal Editor, Clay Minerals: G. Christidis (22) (e-mail)
Elements Representative: M.E. Hodson (e-mail )

Ordinary members of council

C. Petrone (19) (e-mail )
C. Warren (19) (e-mail)
S. Broom Fendley (20) (e-mail)
A. Bray (20) (e-mail)
E. Tomlinson (20) (e-mail)
M. Smith (21) (e-mail)


S. Gibson (19) (e-mail)
P. Pogge von Strandmann (20) (e-mail )

Custodian Trustees

J. Bowles (21) (e-mail)
D. Wray (23) (e-mail)
M. Widdowson (23) (e-mail)

Awards committee

Chair: K. Goodenough (19) (e-mail)

AMG – E. Deady (e-mail)
CMG – S.J. Kemp (e-mail)
EMG –  H. Buss (e-mail)
GG – C. Pearce (e-mail)
GMBN – V. Phoenix (email)
MPG – A. Thomson (e-mail)
MSG – C. Mottram (e-mail)
VMSG – S. Gibson (e-mail)

Special Interest Groups


Applied Mineralogy Group

Chair: E. Deady e-mail
Treasurer: A. Lacinska,
Student representative: Will Smith, George Manuc, Stefan Horn
Members: J.Bowles e-mail, W. Brownscombe e-mail, S. Dominy e-mail, T. Edwards e-mail, J. MacDonald e-mail, J. Naden e-mail, R. Shaw e-mail, D. Smith email,
M. Tyrer, email, H. Hughes e-mail


Clay Minerals Group

Chair: S.J. Kemp e-mailweb
Secretary: H. Pendlowski e-mailweb
Treasurer: F. Clegg  e-mailweb
Editor of Clay Minerals:  G.E. Christidis e-mailweb
Members: C. Greenwell e-mail; web, S. Hillier e-mailweb, A. Neumann e-mail; web; B. Sarkar e-mail; web, N. Skipper e-mailweb, K. Taylor e-mailweb, C. Williams (co-opted) e-mailweb, D. Wray e-mailweb, P. Dowey e-mail; web, K. Shafran e-mail; web


Environmental Mineralogy Group

Chair: H. Buss e-mail
Secretary: O. Moore
Treasurer: H. Buss e-mailweb 
Student representative:
Communications Officer: Andy Bray e-mail
Early Career Representative: Laura Newsome
Industrial representative: James Graham, Daniel Crean

Members: V. Coker, J. Rushton
e-mailweb, Daniel Crean; Caroline Peacock; Steve Parry


Geochemistry Group

Chair: C. Pearce e-mail
Secretary: Marc-Alban Millet e-mail
Treasurer: S. Hammond e-mail
Communications Officer: W. Fraser e-mail
Student representative: R. Shuttleworth
P. Clay e-mailN. Potts e-mail, D. van Acken e-mail, C. Storey e-mail, C. Maerz e-mail, A. Burke e-mail, S. Little e-mail.
Co-opted: M. Laure-Bagard e-mail, G. Inglis e-mail

Geomicrobiology Network

Chair: Karen Ollson-Francis email
Secretary: Laura Kelly email
Treasurer: Andrew Mitchell  email
Post-doctoral representative and communications officer: S. Nixon email
Post-graduate student representative: A. Sherry email ; web 
Members: T. Clarke emailweb, C. Cockell emailweb, V. Coker emailweb, I. Head emailweb, B. Johnson emailweb, L. Mackaskie emailweb, J. Parkes  email, J. Santini emailweb, J. Small email ; web

Metamorphic Studies Group

Chair:  C. Mottram e-mail
Secretary: O. Weller e-mail
Treasurer: Ralf Halama e-mail
Members: E. Bruand e-mail
, Thomas Mueller e-mailIvan Savov e-mail, Luca Menegon e-mail, Nigel Harris e-mail, Alicia Lopez-Carmona e-mail  (overseas rep), James Darling e-mail, T. Argles e-mail, P. TreloarC. Warren
Post-grad rep + social media: Eleni Wood e-mail

Mineral Physics Group

Chair: A. Thomson e-mailweb
G. Bromiley e-mailweb
Treasurer: S. Stackhouse e-mail; web
Members: S. Ashbrook e-mailweb, R. Harrison email; webHans Larsen, e-mailweb, Oliver Lord e-mail; web, Ana Fereira e-mail, web.

Volcanic and Magmatic Studies Group

Chair: S. Gibson e-mail
Secretary: J. Kavanagh e-mail 
S. Mikhail e-mail
Student Rep: J. Pugsley

Website: P. Marshall (co-opted) e-mail
Social Media: J. Hickey e-mail
Newsletter: J. Barclay e-mail
Fieldtrips: G. Cooper e-mail
Awards: J. Kendrick e-mail
Members:  S. Engwell e-mail; M. Cassidey e-mail